Honest Review: The Keepers

Like most people, I am a Netflix junkie. I mean I currently have 5 shows on the go and I’m more than happy to go searching for another one when they have a mid-season hiatus or I need a break from the drama. So when I heard about a new Netflix Original documentary that was giving Making a Murderer a run for its money.

If you haven’t heard about The Keepers, it is a Netflix documentary about the disappearance and murder of a Nun in America in 1969. And if you don’t want anything spoiled for you, I suggested you stop reading here and go watch the show. (It is worth the watch)

The 7 part series shows the investigations of two women who were students of the Nun, Sister Cathy Cesnik, as they try to work what happened to her and who could have murdered her. For the first episode, I wasn’t sure if the show was for me or if it would capture me like Making a Murderer did. But I persisted and watch the second episode and that was it, I was hooked.

Sister Cathy went missing in November 1969 after she went out shopping for an engagement present for her younger sister. After she didn’t return, her flat mate and fellow Sister, grew concerned and called friends to see if they knew where she was. It wasn’t until after midnight that same night that the police were called to report her missing. 2 months after Sister Cathy went missing, her body was found with the top half of her body exposed and it was clear she had been killed by a wound to her head.

“Who would want to kill a Nun?”: The question that ran through my mind throughout this entire series.

The second episode is where they introduced Father Maskell, a Priest who worked alongside Sister Cathy. The allegations against Father Maskell, claiming that he abused students at the Catholic school, had me in utter disbelief and I immediately began piecing things together in my own mind. The whole backstory behind Father Maskell, his victims and Sister Cathy was extremely intriguing and had me wondering “Did he order for someone to kill Sister Cathy because she knew what he was doing?”

A lot of those features in the documentary were either students of Sister Cathy, victims of abuse from Father Maskell, or Baltimore Police Officers talking about the case; which is good because you are not subjected to a one-sided opinion on the events that occurred. However, the more you watch the documentary, the more you begin to believe that Father Maskell was guilty of the crimes he committed as it seemed not one person had a good word to say about him.

The episode which I enjoyed the most was The Suspects. This was where they outlined several possible murderers and theories that had been told throughout the years. In this episode, you are given a deeper knowledge on what had gone on, you see the current detective working on the case discuss evidence and theories. Not only this but you see him find out information for the first time that he wasn’t aware of before; which makes it seem like the murder wasn’t fully investigated the first time around.

I won’t dive into the ins and outs of every single episode, I’ll leave you to go and watch it. But I will say this, I am still none the wiser about who killed Sister Cathy, but I am sure that Father Maskell was a nasty man who probably had something to do with it along with a few other suspects that were brought up on the show. This was not a random killing and as the police say Sister Cathy was killed by somebody she knew.

The series did live up to its successful predecessor Making a Murderer in the sense that it left me wanting to ask more questions and wanting to find out who did kill Sister Cathy and why. What did this Nun do that was so bad that she had to be killed for it? Or did she find out something she shouldn’t? Was Father Maskell involved at all? I honestly am none the wiser but I draw my own conclusions and theories. I suggest that you go watch and do the same.

 

Leave a Reply

